Rights of Non-Tribals in Scheduled Areas

On 10th May, 2023, the Supreme Court (SC) dismissed a plea contending that no one, except the members of the Scheduled Tribes, has the right to settle down in the Scheduled Areas.

  • The Scheduled Areas cover ten states with tribal majority populations – Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, and Rajasthan.
  • Here there are special governance and development provisions for tribal communities. These include Tribal Advisory Councils, prohibition of land transfer from tribals to non-tribals, regulation of land acquisition, and protection of tribal rights.
  • The Fifth Schedule mandates the appointment of a Governor's representative for administering Scheduled ....
Do You Want to Read More?
Subscribe Now

To get access to detailed content

Already a Member? Login here

Take Annual Subscription and get the following Advantage
The annual members of the Civil Services Chronicle can read the monthly content of the magazine as well as the Chronicle magazine archives.
Readers can study all the material before the last six months of the Civil Services Chronicle monthly issue in the form of Chronicle magazine archives.