Provisions for Conservation of Marine Species

  • The Government of India has established 130 Marine Protected Areas and identified 106 Important Coastal and Marine Biodiversity Areas to conserve marine species.
  • Threatened marine species are listed in the Indian Wildlife Protection Act, 1972.
  • The government prioritizes rare and threatened species such as marine turtles, humpback whales, and Dugongs for conservation efforts.
  • Under the Integrated Development of Wildlife Habitat (IDWH), the marine mammal Dugong is a focus of conservation efforts.
  • A Dugong Conservation Reserve has been declared in the Palk Bay.
  • A National Marine Turtle Action Plan and is expanding Project Dolphin to include marine dolphins for species monitoring and conservation.
  • The Coastal Regulation ....
Do You Want to Read More?
Subscribe Now

To get access to detailed content

Already a Member? Login here

Take Annual Subscription and get the following Advantage
The annual members of the Civil Services Chronicle can read the monthly content of the magazine as well as the Chronicle magazine archives.
Readers can study all the material before the last six months of the Civil Services Chronicle monthly issue in the form of Chronicle magazine archives.