Two Indian Sites Join UNESCO World Heritage List

On 18th September, 2023, the historic West Bengal town of Santiniketan and the Sacred Ensembles of the Hoysalas were included in UNESCO’s renowned World Heritage List.

  • India now boasts 42 UNESCO World Heritage Sites.
  • Sacred Ensembles of the Hoysalas, comprises three exquisite temples located in Belur, Halebidu, and Somanathapura in Karnataka. These temples, adorned with intricate stone carvings, are dedicated to different deities and reflect the rich heritage of Vaishnavism, Shaivism, and Jainism.
  • Santiniketan, founded by Rabindranath Tagore in 1901, is in West Bengal's Birbhum district. It holds immense cultural and architectural importance, with efforts dating back to 2010 to secure its ....
Do You Want to Read More?
Subscribe Now

To get access to detailed content

Already a Member? Login here

Take Annual Subscription and get the following Advantage
The annual members of the Civil Services Chronicle can read the monthly content of the magazine as well as the Chronicle magazine archives.
Readers can study all the material before the last six months of the Civil Services Chronicle monthly issue in the form of Chronicle magazine archives.