The name “Taoism” comes from Tao, the term used to represent the absolute. Knowledge of the absolute is not to be attained by study or reason, but by contemplation. The Taoists identified themselves with nature, that urged the acceptance of all things in their natural state and deplored passions, unnecessary inventions, artificial ceremonies and governing activities such as war and taxation.

Taoism was founded by Lao Tse, a Chinese philosopher and prominent religious leader. He worked as a record keeper in the court of the “Chou”. His main work is called “Tao Te Ching”, the Book of the World Law and its Power. The Taoists opposed rituals, social codes, morals and intellectualism of Confucianism. They believed that society can be reformed by returning to primitive times. In its teaching, virtue was cast in passive and feminine term. Taoism developed beliefs concerning the afterlife, which included a heaven and hell, as well as a cosmology that divided all reality into male and female principles or Yang and Yin. Taoism became concerned with magic and also provided the basis for many secret societies.

Four Sacred Mountains of Taoism

  • 1.Wudang Mountains, in Shiyan, Hubei Province of China
  • 2.Mount Qingcheng, in Dujiangyan, Sichuan Province
  • 3.Mount Longhu, in Yingtan, Jiangxi Province
  • 4.Mount Qiyun, in Huangshan, Anhui Province

Download as PDF