Sikhism, amongst the youngest of the major world religions, originated and primarily developed in the 15th-17th century sub-continental India (South Asia).The founder of Sikhism was Guru Nanak. He attem­pted to eliminate the caste system. He was followed by nine gurus. Guru Gobind Singh was the last and tenth guru. The sacred book of Sikhism is “Guru Granth Sahib”. It includes the selected works of many authors from diverse socio-economic and religious backgrounds. The religious philosophy of Sikhism is mainly influenced by Islam and Hinduism. The principal belief in Sikhism is faith in one God – Vahiguru. It advocates the pursuit of salvation through disciplined, personal meditation on the name and message of God. Sikhism's traditions and teachings are distinctly associated with the history, society and culture of the Indian sub-continent.

  • Most important place of worship is-Darbar Sahib: The Golden Temple, Amritsar
  • Other important place of worship: The Five Holy Takhts:These Five Gurdwaras known as the Five Takhts (Thrones) have a very special significance for the Sikh community. They are considered the seats of Sikh religious authority. Many important decisions concerning the religious and social life of the Sikh community were made here.
  • Akal Takht literally means Eternal Throne. It is part of the Golden Temple complex in Amritsar.
  • Damdama Sahib is situated in the village of Talwandi Sabo near Bhatinda. This is where Guru Gobind Singh stayed for nearly a year and compiled the final edition of the Guru Granth Sahib known as the Damdama Sahib Bir in 1705.
  • Keshgarh Sahib is situated at Anandpur. It is considered the birthplace of the Khalsa.
  • Hazur Sahib is on the banks of Godavari in Maharashtra. This is where Guru Gobind Singh left this world.
  • Patna Sahib is situated in Patna the capital of Bihar. It was here that Guru Gobind Singh was born in 1666 and spent his early years before moving to Anandpur.
  • Ten Sikh Gurus

Name Guruship

1. Nanak Dev 1507-1539

2. Angad Dev 1539-1552

3. Amar Das 1552-1574

4. Ram Das 1574-1581

5. Arjan Dev 1581-1606

6. HarGobind 1606-1644

7. Har Rai 1644-1661

8. Har Krishan 1661-1664

9. Tegh Bahadur 1665-1675

10. Gobind Singh 1675-1708

Download as PDF