(0120) 25146-11/12, 8800495544
Welcome Visitor!

News in Short


SC Collegium Recommendations


The Supreme Court Collegium has recommended the following to be appointed as judges to the Apex Court and High Courts:

Recommendation for the Supreme Court

K.M. Joseph: Chief Justice of Uttarakhand High Court (second time recommendation)
Indira Banerjee: Madras High Court Chief Justice
Vineet Saran: Odisha High Court Chief Justice

Recommendation for High Courts

Justice V.K. Tahilramani: He will be the Chief Justice of Madras High Court with the incumbent, Justice Indira Banerjee, being recommended by the Supreme Court Collegium for appointment to the top court.
Justice Rajendra Menon: Patna Chief Justice Rajendra Menon to take over as the Chief Justice of the Delhi High Court.
Justice Gita Mittal: The acting Chief Justice, Justice Gita Mittal, has been recommended for appointment as the Chief Justice of the Jammu and Kashmir High Court.
Justice Aniruddha Bose: He will be the Chief Justice of the Jharkhand High Court.


New Nominated Members Of RS


The President of India has nominated four eminent persons for Rajya Sabha to fill seats after retirement of Cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, Actress Rekha, Social activist Anu Agha and Veteran lawyer K Parasaran.

Rajya Sabha has 233 elected members plus 12 members nominated by the President. The President nominates those persons who have made their mark in the fields of literature, science, art and social service.

In Lok Sabha, there are 543 elected members plus 2 Anglo-Indians nominated by the President if the community is not adequately represented in the Lok Sabha. Originally, this provision was to operate till 1960 but has been extended till 2020 by the 95th Amendment Act (2009).

New Members & their Field of Eminence

Ram Shakal: He is a farmer leader from Uttar Pradesh and has worked for farmers, labourers, Dalits and migrants.

Rakesh Sinha: Founder and Honorary Director of the Delhi-based think-tank "India Policy Foundation." He is also an author and columnist.

Raghunath Mohapatra: A renowned sculptor- art of stone carving. He wants to create a second Sun temple in Odisha.

Sonal Mansingh: Indian classical dancer (Bharatnatyam and Odissi)


Justice AK Goel


Justice Adarsh Kumar Goel has been appointed as the new chairperson of the National Green Tribunal (NGT). Goel is a former chief justice of the Odisha and Gauhati High Courts. He was the first Supreme Court judge from Haryana. He replaced Justice Jawad Rahim, who has been appointed as the acting chairperson.


Saraswati Prasad


He has been appointed as CMD of Steel Authority of India (SAIL)


José Eladio Alcaín


United Nations Secretary‑General António Guterres has appointed Major General José Eladio Alcaín of Uruguay as Head of Mission and Chief Military Observer for the United Nations Military Observer Group in India and Pakistan (UNMOGIP).


Arijit Basu


The State Bank of India (SBI) has appointed Arijit Basu as its Managing Director (MD). He will fill in the post vacated by Rajnish Kumar, who has been elevated as the chairman of the bank.


Justice L Narasimha Reddy


Justice L Narasimha Reddy who retired as the Chief Justice of the Patna High Court in 2015 has been appointed the Chairman of the Central Administrative Tribunal (CAT). Justice Reddy will take over from Justice Dinesh Gupta.


Vishwas Patel


Director at Infibeam Avenues Vishwas Patel has been appointed as the Chairman of Payments Council of India (PCI), an apex body representing companies in payments and settlement system. He took over from Naveen Surya, who has been elevated to the post of Chairman Emeritus.


Thottathil Radhakrishnan


Justice Thottathil Bhaskaran Nair Radhakrishnan, presently Chief Justice of Chattisgarh High Court, will assume charge as Chief Justice of Hyderabad High Court for the States of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh.

The Supreme Court Collegium has recommended his name for the Chief Justice of Hyderabad High Court nearly five months ago. The Centre has cleared the recommendation. With this, the Hyderabad High Court will get a regular Chief Justice after nearly two years.


Dhivya Suryadevara


Chennai-born Dhivya Suryadevara has been named the Chief Finance Officer of the US largest automaker, General Motors, the first woman to get the position in the auto industry. She is an Indian-American chartered financial analyst, will report to GM’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Mary Barra, the only woman to run an automobile company.

Our Partners