Surama Padhy

  • 22 Jun 2024

On June 20th, 2024, Senior BJP leader Surama Padhy was elected unopposed as the Speaker of the Odisha Assembly. She is a two-time MLA from the Ranpur in Nayagarh district.

Key Points

  • She was elected unopposed as there was no other candidate in the fray.
  • She is the second woman to become Speaker of Odisha Assembly after Pramila Mallick of BJD.
  • She was elected to the state Assembly from Ranpur constituency in Nayagarh district during 2004-2009 and served as the Minister of State (Independent charges) for the Department of Co-operation, Odisha.
  • She won the Ranpur constituency again in 2024 defeating BJD candidate Satyanarayan Pradhan by 15.544 votes.