Current News - Sports In News - Cricket

Virat Kohli Secures ICC ODI Player of the Year Award for the Fourth Time

Indian batting maestro Virat Kohli clinched the ICC ODI Player of the Year award for the fourth occasion, marking his stellar performance in the 2023 World Cup.

Key Points

  • Record-Breaking Achievement: Virat Kohli, a key figure in Indian cricket, secured the ICC ODI Player of the Year accolade for the fourth time, adding to his previous triumphs in 2012, 2017, and 2018. His exceptional 2023 World Cup performance contributed to this remarkable feat.
  • ICC Cricketer of the Year Nomination: Kohli finds himself among the four nominees for the prestigious ICC Cricketer of the Year 2023 award, reflecting his consistent excellence on the cricketing stage.
  • Unprecedented Recognition: Kohli's achievement surpasses the previous record held by AB de Villiers, making him the first cricketer ever to win the ICC ODI Player of the Year award four times.
  • 2023 Performance Highlights: The Indian captain's remarkable comeback in 2022 set the stage for a spectacular 2023, where he earned the Player of the Tournament title at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup.

India Clinches 8th Asia Cup Title with Dominant Victory over Sri Lanka

On 17th September, 2023, India secured its 8th Asia Cup championship by easily chasing down a target of 51 against Sri Lanka.

Key Points

  • One-Sided Contest: Mohammed Siraj played a pivotal role in India's victory, decimating Sri Lanka's batting lineup with remarkable figures of 6 for 21 off 7 overs.
  • The result was all but assured after Sri Lanka's batters struggled, with five of them getting dismissed without contributing to the score.
  • Swift Victory: India achieved the target in just 6.1 overs, winning the final match with a remarkable 263 balls to spare and all 10 wickets intact.
  • This victory marked India's largest winning margin in terms of balls remaining in Asia Cup history, surpassing their previous record set against Kenya in 2001.

Ranji Trophy 2022: Madhya Pradesh wins Maiden Title

Madhya Pradesh cricket team won their first-ever Ranji Trophy title recently.

  • MP, led by Aditya Shrivastava, defeated 41-time champions Mumbai in the final played at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru.
  • The team was coached by former India wicketkeeper-batsman Chandrakant Pandit.
  • Player of the Match (Final): Shubham Sharma (MP)
  • Player of the Tournament: Mumbai batter Sarfaraz Khan was crowned as the ‘Man of the Tournament for his brilliant Ranji Trophy 2022 with the bat, which saw him score 982 runs at an average of 122.75, finishing at the top of the batting charts.
  • Shams Mulani from Mumbai was the leading wicket-taker of the tournament with 45 scalps.

ICC U-19 Men’s Cricket World Cup

  • India beat England to win the ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup played at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua (West Indies) on 5 February 2022. It was a record fifth U-19 title for India.
  • Yash Dhull became the fifth Indian captain to win the title after Mohammad Kaif, Virat Kohli, Unmukt Chand and Prithvi Shaw.
  • Raj Bawa (India) received the ‘Player of the Match’ award in the final while Dewald Brevis from South Africa won the ‘Player of the Series’.

ICC Awards 2021

The ICC Awards are an annual set of sports awards for international cricket, which recognise and honour the best international cricket players of the previous 12 months. The awards were introduced by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in 2004.

Winners for the Year 2021

  • Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year – Smriti Mandhana (India)
  • Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year – Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan)
  • ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year – Joe Root (England)
  • ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Babar Azam (Pakistan)
  • ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Lizelle Lee (South Africa)
  • ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year – Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan)
  • ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year – Tammy Beaumont (England)
  • ICC Emerging Men’s Cricketer of the Year – Janneman Malan (South Africa)
  • ICC Emerging Women’s Cricketer of the Year – Fatima Sana (Pakistan)
  • ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year – Zeeshan Maqsood (Oman)
  • ICC Women’s Associate Cricketer of the Year – Andrea-Mae Zepeda (Austria)
  • ICC Umpire of the Year – Marais Erasmus (South Africa)

ICC Men’s Player of the Month (December 2021)

  • The International Cricket Council (ICC) on January 10 announced Ajaz Patel as the winner of the ICC Men’s Player of the Month Award for December 2021.
  • Ajaz Patel (New Zealand) made history in December 2021, when he picked up 10 wickets in an innings against India at Wankhede, becoming only the third player in Tests to achieve that feat after Jim Laker and Anil Kumble.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021

  • Himachal Pradesh beat Tamil Nadu in the final to win their maiden Vijay Hazare Trophy title, at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur.
  • The game was decided under VJD Method due to bad light.
  • Player of the Match (final): Shubham Arora (Himachal Pradesh)
  • Player of the Tournament: Rishi Dhawan (Captain, Himachal Pradesh)
  • Mumbai were the defending champions.

(Image Source: Indian Express)

About VJD Method

  • The VJD Method is used in Indian domestic cricket as a substitute for DLS Method (The Duckworth–Lewis–Stern method (DLS) is a mathematical formulation designed to calculate the target score (number of runs needed to win) for the team batting second in a limited overs cricket match interrupted by weather or other circumstances).
  • The VJD method was put together by V Jayadevan, a civil engineer from Kerala and first came into existence back in 2010 after BCCI decided to use it in domestic matches.
  • The International Cricket Council (ICC) reviewed the VJD method but rejected it in 2012


  • The VJD system divides the innings into phases. It assumes a high scoring rate in the first few overs, considering fielding restrictions, assumes a drop in the rate in the middle overs, and assumes another rise in the slog overs. Another advantage that the VJD method has over the DLS method in terms of having a more humane way of calculating targets is that it considers two curves on the graph as opposed to the single curve on the DLS graph on which all calculations are made.

India-New Zealand Test Series

  • India won the 2 match Test series 1-0.
  • In the second test India won by its biggest margin by runs (372).
  • Ravichandran Ashwin from India was declared ‘Player of the Series’.
  • In the second Test played at Mumbai, Ajaz Yunus Patel from New Zealand became the third bowler to take all ten wickets in an innings in Test cricket after Jim Laker and Anil Kumble.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021

  • Tamil Nadu beat Karnataka in the final to win the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021.
  • The final was played at Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi.
  • Tamil Nadu is the most successful team in the history of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy history (3rd titles).
  • Batsman M. Shahrukh Khan who smashed a dramatic last-ball six to help Tamil Nadu defend the T-20 title was adjudged as the ‘Man of the Match’.

(Image Source:

About the Tournament

  • The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is a domestic Twenty20 cricket championship organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), among the teams from the Ranji Trophy.
  • It is named after the famous Indian test cricketer, Syed Mushtaq Ali.
  • The tournament is held in Round robin, then knockout format.

India-New Zealand T20 Series

  • India took a clean-sweep over the Kiwis in the three match series 3-0.
  • Axar Patel was declared Player of the Match while Rohit Sharma was declared Player of the Series.
Showing 1-10 of 23 items.