Om Birla: New Speaker of 18th Lok Sabha

  • 27 Jun 2024

On June 26th, 2024, BJP MP Om Birla was re-elected as the Speaker of the 18th Lok Sabha with a voice vote for the second time.

Key Points

  • He has been elected as the Speaker of the Lower House of the Parliament for the second term in a row.
  • He is as an MP from Rajasthan's Kota Lok Sabha constituency. He was first elected as an MP in 2014.
  • After the Congress’s Balram Jakhar in 1985, the Kota parliamentarian became the first speaker in 39 years to get re-elected to the Lok Sabha’s highest office.
  • Under him, in the very first session in 2019, all first-time members got an opportunity to speak and during the first session’s Zero Hour, members raised 1,066 subjects, a record for any one session in the history of the Lok Sabha.
  • He was the first Speaker to provide MPs with clippings of their speeches to help them circulate them on social media.
  • He also started a new system of briefing sessions for MPs on bills or policies to improve the quality of debate.
  • The shifting of Parliament from the colonial-era building to the new building was done during his first tenure.