17th ASEAN-India Summit

  • 17 Nov 2020

The 17th ASEAN-India Summit was held virtually under the chairmanship of Nguyen Xuan Phuc, Prime Minister of Vietnam and current Chair of ASEAN.

Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi participated in this summit.


  • Role of ASEAN in Act East Policy and SAGAR: India highlighted the centrality of ASEAN in India's Act East Policy and noted that a cohesive, responsive and prosperous ASEAN is central to India's Indo-Pacific Vision and contributes to Security And Growth for All in the Region (SAGAR).
  • IPOI: India noted importance of strengthening convergence between India's Indo-Pacific Oceans Initiative and the ASEAN Outlook on Indo-Pacific, to ensure a free, open, inclusive and rules-based Indo-Pacific region. India invited the ASEAN countries to cooperate on various pillars of India’s Indo-Pacific Oceans Initiative (IPOI).
  • ASEAN Response Fund:India announced a contribution of US$ 1 million to the COVID-19 ASEAN Response Fund.
  • AITIGA: India called for an early review of ASEAN-India Trade in Goods Agreement (AITIGA), which is pending for a long time.
  • ASEAN Connectivity:India highlighted the importance of greater physical and digital connectivity between ASEAN and India and reiterated India's offer of US$ 1 billion Line of Credit to support ASEAN connectivity.
  • ASEAN-India Plan of Action for 2021-2025: The ASEAN leaders welcomed the adoption of the new ASEAN-India Plan of Action for 2021-2025.
  • South China Sea: The discussions covered regional and international issues of common interest and concern, including South China Sea and terrorism. The leaders affirmed the importance of maintaining and promoting peace, stability, safety and security in the South China Sea and ensuring freedom of navigation and over-flight.
  • UNCLOS: Both sides noted the importance of promoting a rules-based order in the region including through upholding adherence to international law, especially the UNCLOS.


  • Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a regional grouping that promotes economic, political, and security cooperation.
  • It was established on 8th August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the founding fathers of ASEAN, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.
  • Members of ASEAN: It has 10 members- Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.