20th IORA Council Of Ministers (COM) Meeting

  • 22 Dec 2020

  • The 20th Meeting of Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) Council of Ministers (COM) hosted virtually by UAE, IORA Chair on 17th December 2020.
  • The meeting saw the participation from all 22 Member States and 10 Dialogue Partners.
  • The meeting deliberated upon various regional and global issues of common interest by IORA Member States.
  • India as a founding member of IORA has been committed to its growth since its inception in 1997.
  • Sri Lanka will be theVice Chair of IORA for the period 2021-23;
  • At the Meet, the French Republic was added as the IORA’s 23rd Member State, on the basis of Réunion Island.

About Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA)

  • The IORA is an inter-governmental organisation which was established on March 7, 1997 and its Headquarter is at Ebene, Mauritius.
  • IORA’s apex body is the Council of Foreign Ministers (COM) which meets annually, with the aim of promoting regional cooperation, prosperity, and growth in the Indian Ocean region.
  • It comprise of 22 Member states and 10 Dialogue partners.
  • The 22 member states are: Australia, Iran, Bangladesh, the Comoros, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Mozambique, Oman, Seychelles, Singapore, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Thailand, the United Arab Emirates and Yemen.