President signs Appointment of 9 SC Judges

  • The President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind on 26 August 2021 signed the warrants of the appointment of nine judges, including three women, to the Supreme Court who will be sworn in on August 31.
  • The new judges include Justice B.V. Nagarathna, who will be in line to be the first woman Chief Justice of India in September 2027.
  • The other women judges who have been elevated are Justices Bela M. Trivedi and Hema Kohli.
  • The other appointees are Justices C.T. Ravikumar, M.M. Sundresh, Abhay Shreeniwas Oka, Vikram Nath and Jitendra Kumar Maheshwari, and former Additional Solicitor-General P.S. Narasimha.
  • With the appointments, the working strength of the Supreme Court goes up to 33, against the sanctioned strength of 34.