Sardar Iqbal Singh Lalpura takes charge as the Chairman, NCM

  • 11 Sep 2021

  • On 10th September 2-21, Sardar Iqbal Singh Lalpura took charge as the Chairman, National Commission for Minorities.
  • The Union Government set up the National Commission for Minorities (NCM) under the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992.
  • Initially five religious communities, viz., Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists and Zoroastrians (Parsis) were notified as minority communities by the Union Government. Further vide notification dated 27th January 2014, Jains were also notified as another minority community.