UPSC Hindi Mains Books for 2023

US Open 2021: Novak Djokovic failed to complete a calendar year ‘Grand Slam’

The 2021 US Open was the 141st edition of tennis' US Open and the fourth and final Grand Slam event of the year.

  • It was held on outdoor hard courts at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in New York City.
  • Dominic Thiem and Naomi Osaka were the men's and women's singles defending champions.
  • Novak Djokovic failed to complete a calendar year ‘Grand Slam’ in men's singles, a feat achieved by Rod Laver (Australia) in 1962.
  • He won the other three Grand Slam events this year (Australian Open, French Open, and Wimbledon).
  • Novak also failed to surpass Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal for most major titles (21) by a male player.

Winners of Singles Title

Men’s Singles

  • Daniil Sergeyevich Medvedev (Russia) beat Novak Djokovic (Serbia) to win the men's singles title (First Grand Slam). He was earlier beaten by Novak Djokovic in the Australian Open 2021 final.

Women's Singles

  • Emma Raducanu (UK) beat Leylah Fernandez (Canada) to win the women's singles title.
  • Emma Raducanu became the first British woman in 44 years to win a Grand Slam final.
  • The 18-year-old world No 150 is the first qualifier to capture a Grand Slam title.
  • Raducanu is the youngest US Open champion since Williams in 1999 and the first US Open women’s champion not to drop a set since Williams in 2014.