India wins SAFF Championship Title for 8th Time

  • 18 Oct 2021

  • India won the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) Championship for eighth time defeating Nepal 3-0 in Male.
  • Indian Captain Sunil Chhetri’s goal in the final game helped him level with Lionel Messi on 80 international goals.
  • This is the Indian football team’s first title victory under head coach Igor Stimac.
  • The SAFF was founded in 1997, with Bangladesh, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. In 2000, they expanded to 7 members, adding Bhutan. In 2005, Afghanistan joined too, but they left in 2015.
  • The seven-member SAFF has its headquarters at Dhaka, Bangladesh.