Australian Open 2022

  • The 2022 Australian Open was the first Grand Slam tennis tournament of the year that took place at Melbourne Park, Australia from 17 to 30 January 2022.
  • Novak Djokovic and Naomi Osaka were the 2021 champions in Men's Singles and Women's Singles, respectively.
  • Djokovic was unable to participate in the tournament after his visa was cancelled by Australian Immigration Ministry.

Major Title Winners

Men’s Singles

  • Rafael Nadal (Spain) beat Daniil Medvedev (Russia) to win the Grand Slam season opener - Australian Open title 2022.
  • Rafael Nadal broke a three-way tie with Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic by claiming his 21st Grand Slam title.
  • Nadal has now won all four major titles twice, something only Djokovic had previously accomplished in the Open era.

Women’s Singles

  • Ashleigh Barty (Australia) beat Danielle Collins (USA) to win the Australian Open title 2022.
  • It was her third Grand Slam title.
  • Barty became the first Australian to win the event since Chris O’Neil captured the women’s title in 1978.

Men's Doubles: Thanasi Kokkinakis / Nick Kyrgios (both Australia) beat Matthew Ebden / Max Purcell (both Australia)

Women's Doubles: Barbora Krejčíková / Kateřina Siniaková (both Czech Republic) beat the pair of Anna Danilina (Kazakhstan) and Beatriz Haddad Maia (Brazil)

Mixed Doubles: Kristina Mladenovic (France) / Ivan Dodig (Croatia) beat Jaimee Fourlis / Jason Kubler (both Australia)