Suresh N Patel becomes new CVC

  • 03 Aug 2022

On 3rd August, Vigilance Commissioner Suresh N Patel was appointed as the Central Vigilance Commissioner, a year after the post fell vacant.

About CVC

  • Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) is an apex Indian governmental statutory body to address governmental corruption.
  • It was set up by the Government of India Resolution on 11 February 1964, on the recommendations of the Committee on Prevention of Corruption, headed by K. Santhanam.
  • Nittoor Srinivasa Rau was the first Chief Vigilance Commissioner of India.

Some facts on Chief Vigilance Commissioner/Vigilance Commissioners

  • Term: The term for Chief Vigilance Commissioner and Vigilance Commissioners is 4 years or 65 years, whichever is earlier.
  • Composition: The CVC comprises a Central Vigilance Commissioner – Chairperson and not more than two Vigilance Commissioners – as Members.
  • Appointment: The Central Vigilance Commissioner and the Vigilance Commissioners are appointed by the President on recommendation of a Committee consisting of the Prime Minister (Chairperson), the Minister of Home Affairs (Member) and the Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha.
  • Removal: The Central Vigilance Commissioner or any Vigilance Commissioner can be removed from his office only by order of the President on the ground of proved misbehavior or incapacity after the Supreme Court, on a reference made to it by the President, has, on inquiry, reported that the Central Vigilance Commissioner or any Vigilance Commissioner, as the case may be, ought to be removed.