News Crux Appointment

Justice Vikramjit Sen To Head Digital Media Content Regulatory Council

  • The Indian Broadcasting Foundation announced the appointment of Justice Vikramjit Sen as the Chairman of its newly formed self-regulatory body Digital Media Content Regulatory Council (DMCRC).
  • "The self-regulatory body is formed as per the mandate of the Information Technology (Intermediary Guidelines and Digital Media Ethics Code) Rules, 202.
  • IBF, the apex body of broadcasters, has also been renamed as Indian Broadcasting & Digital Foundation (IBDF) to expand to cover digital streaming platforms.

News Crux Defence

ICG OPV ‘Sajag’ Commissioned

  • Indian Coast Guard (ICG) Offshore Patrol Vessel (OPV) Sajag has been commissioned on May 29, 2021.
  • OPV Sajag is constructed by M/s Goa Shipyard Limited.
  • The concept of forming ICG came into being post 1971 war, when it was assessed that maritime borders are equally vital as land borders. The blueprint for a multi-dimension Coast Guard was conceived by the visionary Rustamji Committee.
  • The ICG was created through an Act of Parliament in 1978.
  • ICG is the 4th largest in the world.

News Crux Economy

IFFCO To Launch Nano Urea

  • Indian Farmers Fertiliser Cooperative (IFFCO) will launch Nano Urea in the market shortly.
  • 500-ml Nano Urea, which costs 240 rupees, is equivalent to 45kg of normal urea.
  • Nano Urea is environment friendly and cuts the input cost of the farmers by 15 percent.
  • Apart from enriching the soil, this new product will increase yield by 15 to 20 percent.
  • The country needs 350 lakh metric tonnes of urea every year. Introduction of Nano urea is said to reduce the usage of ordinary urea used now, thereby saving 600 crore rupees subsidy given by the Government. The country’s dependence on import of urea will also come down.

News Crux Awards

Three Indian Peacekeepers Honoured With Dag Hammarskjold Medal

  • 3 Indian peacekeepers honoured posthumously with UN medal (Dag Hammarskjold Medal) for sacrifice in line of duty.
  • These three peacekeepers are among 129 military, police and civilian personnel selected for the honour from across the globe.

The Awardees

  1. Corporal Yuvraj Singh: The Indian peacekeeper had served with the United Nations Mission in South Sudan (UNMISS).
  2. Ivan Michael Picardo: The civilian peacekeeper had also served with the United Nations Mission in South Sudan (UNMISS).
  3. Mulchand Yadav: The civilian peacekeeper had worked with the UN Assistance Mission in Iraq (UNAMI).

News Crux Art/Culture/Heritage

YUVA PM Scheme For Mentoring Young Authors

  • The Department of Higher Education under the Ministry of Education has launched ‘YUVA- Prime Minister’s Scheme for Mentoring Young Authors’.
  • YUVA stands for Young, Upcoming and Versatile Authors.
  • It is an Author Mentorship programme to train young and budding authors, below 30 years of age to promote reading, writing and book culture in the country, and project India and Indian writings globally.
  • The National Book Trust, India under the Ministry of Education will be the Implementing Agency for the scheme.

News Crux Science & Technology

NEERI Develops Saline Gargle RT-PCR Testing Method

  • Scientists of Nagpur-based National Environmental Engineering Research Institute (NEERI) under Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) have developed a 'Saline Gargle RT-PCR Method' for testing COVID-19 samples.
  • The method has received approval from the Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR).
  • As per the method, a patient is required to gargle a saline solution and spit into a simple collection tube. This sample in the collection tube is then taken to a laboratory where it is kept at room temperature in a special buffer solution prepared by Neeri. An RNA template is produced when this solution is heated. The solution is further processed for reverse transcription polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR).
  • It is simple, fast, cost-effective, patient-friendly and comfortable; it also offers instant results (in three hours) and is well-suited for rural and tribal areas, given minimal infrastructure requirements.
  • The method is non-invasive and so simple that the patient herself can collect the sample.
  • Swab collection method requires time. Moreover, since it is an invasive technique, it is a bit uncomfortable for patients. Some time is lost also in the transport of the sample to the collection centre.

News Crux Sports

Asian Boxing Championship 2021

With 15 medals, the Indian boxing contingent achieved their best-ever show at the ASBC Asian Boxing Championships held in the UAE.

  • The 19-member Indian contingent concluded the campaign with the highest-ever 15 medals including 2 gold, 5 silver and 8 bronze.
  • All the boxers of the 10-member Indian women's team returned with a medal at the championships which were jointly hosted by the Boxing Federation of India (BFI) and UAE Boxing Federation.


  • Sanjeet Singh: Men's boxer Sanjeet Singh (91kg) won a gold medal against the Rio Olympic silver medallist Kazkhak boxer and three-time Asian champion Vassiliy Levit.
  • Pooja Rani: In the women's section, Pooja Rani (75kg) clinched her second successive gold medal in the championship after outpunching in-form Mavluda Movlonova of Uzbekistan. Pooja had won a gold medal in 2019 in the 81 kg category.


  • Amit Panghal and Shiva Thapa: Olympic-bound boxers Amit Panghal (52kg) and Shiva Thapa (64kg) ended their campaign with silver after suffering defeats in their respective finals matches.
  • Mary Kom: Five-time Asian Championships gold medallist Mary Kom (51kg) settled with a silver medal. Mary Kom - London Olympics bronze-medallist - lost to the two-time world champion Nazym Kyzaibay of Kazakhstan.
  • Lalbuatsaihi (64kg) suffered a 2-3 defeat against Milana Safronova of Kazakhstan to win a silver medal in her maiden outing at the Championships.
  • Anupama (+81kg) also grabbed a silver medal as she lost to Lazzat Kungeibayeva of Kazakhstan 2-3 in yet another nail-biting final.


  • Vikas Krishan (69kg) and Varinder Singh (60kg) secured bronze medals in the men's section after losing their semi-final matches.
  • In the Women’s category, Simranjit Kaur (60kg), Lovlina Borgohain (69kg), Jaismine (57kg), Sakshi Chaudhary (54kg), Monika (48kg) and Saweety (81kg) secured bronze medals.