Pradhan Mantri Kisan Samman Nidhi (PM-KISAN) Yojana

Recently, the Prime Minister distributed the 15th installment of the Pradhan Mantri Kisan Samman Nidhi (PM-KISAN) Yojana, totalling over Rs 18,000 crore and benefiting more than 80 million farmers.

Key Points

  • It is a Central-Sector scheme with 100% funding from the Government of India.
  • The scheme aims to supplement the financial needs of the farmers in procuring various inputs to ensure proper crop health and appropriate yields, commensurate with the anticipated farm income.
  • It has become operational from 1.12.2018.
  • Under the scheme, income support of 6,000/- per year in three equal installments will be provided to all land-holding farmer families.
  • The definition of family for the scheme is husband, wife, and minor children.
  • The State Government and UT administration will identify the farmer families that are eligible for support as per scheme guidelines.
  • The fund will be directly transferred to the bank accounts of the beneficiaries.
  • Exclusion Categories: The following categories of beneficiaries shall not be eligible for benefits under the scheme:
    • ­All institutional landholders.
    • ­Farmer families that belong to one or more of the following categories:
    • ­Former and present holders of constitutional posts.
    • ­Former and present Ministers/ State Ministers, and former/present Members of LokSabha/ RajyaSabha/ State Legislative Assemblies/ State Legislative Councils, former and present Mayors of Municipal Corporations, former and present Chairpersons of District Panchayats.
    • ­All serving or retired officers and employees of Central/ State Government Ministries /Offices/Departments and its field units Central or State PSEs and Attached offices /Autonomous Institutions under Government as well as regular employees of the Local Bodies (Excluding Multi Tasking Staff /Class IV/Group D employees).
    • ­All superannuated/retired pensioners whose monthly pension is Rs.10,000/-or more (Excluding Multi Tasking Staff / Class IV/Group D employees) of above category.
    • ­All Persons who paid Income Tax in the last assessment year.
    • ­Professionals like Doctors, Engineers, Lawyers, Chartered Accountants, and Architects registered with Professional bodies and carrying out profession by undertaking practices.