Iran Introduces 15-Day Visa-Free Policy for Indian Tourists

  • 07 Feb 2024

On 6th February, 2024, Iran announced the implementation of a 15-day visa-free policy for Indian tourists visiting Iran, according to a statement from the Iran Embassy.

Key Points

  • Visa-Free Access for Indian Tourists: Indian citizens can now enter Iran for tourism purposes without a visa, under the new policy. The initiative allows for a maximum stay of 15 days per visit, with a restriction of one entry every six months.
  • Visa Requirements for Extended Stays: While the visa abolition benefits tourists entering Iran via air borders, those intending longer stays or multiple entries within six months must obtain appropriate visas from Iranian representations in India.
  • Global Trend of Visa Easing: Iran joins several countries in offering visa-free access to Indian tourists. Recent examples include Malaysia, Thailand, and Sri Lanka, which have relaxed visa regulations to attract more visitors from India.
  • Malaysia and Thailand's Visa Policies: Last year, Malaysia introduced a 30-day visa-free entry for Indian and Chinese visitors, subject to security screenings. Thailand also waived entry visa requirements for Indian tourists for six months, effective until May 10, 2024.
  • Sri Lanka's Visa Exemption: Sri Lanka extended visa-free entry to visitors from seven countries, including India, China, and Russia, as part of efforts to enhance tourism and facilitate travel.