Palestine Recognition as a State

  • 29 May 2024

On May 28th, 2024, Norway, Spain, and Ireland became the latest nations to recognize the state of Palestine, bringing the total to 145 countries.

Key Points

  • Israel’s war in Gaza since the 7th October 2023 attack has reignited a global push for the establishment of a Palestinian state.
  • Middle East, African and Asian countries are recognizing it as a state.
  • The United States, Canada, most of western Europe, Australia, Japan or South Korea not recognizing it as a state.
  • Australia, Malta and Slovenia have expressed “readiness” to recognize it as a state.
  • In April 2024, the United States vetoed a Palestinian bid to become a full UN member state at the UN Security Council.
  • On 15th November 1988, during the first Palestinian uprising, Palestinian leader Yasser Arafat unilaterally proclaimed an independent Palestinian state with Jerusalem as its capital.
  • Algeria became the first country to officially recognise an independent Palestinian state.
  • In November 2012, the Palestinian flag was raised at the United Nations for the first time after the General Assembly overwhelmingly voted to upgrade Palestine's status to "non-member observer state."
  • 1n 2014, Sweden became a first EU nation to recognize as a state.