India: Champion of T20 World Cup

  • 01 Jul 2024

India bagged its second ICC T20 World Cup title by beating South Africa, by a margin of 7 runs. South Africa, chasing India’s total of 176/7, managed to score 169/8 at the end of their 20 overs.

Key Points

  • The T20 World Cup tournament was held at three venues in the US and six in the West Indies.
  • For the group stage, the 20 teams were divided into four groups, and the top two teams from each group advanced to the Super 8s.
  • Four groups for the group phase of the T20 world Cup 2024.
  • Group A - India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA
  • Group B - England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman
  • Group C - New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea
  • Group D - South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal
  • Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma have announced their retirement from international T20 cricket following India’s victory over South Africa in the 2024 T20 World Cup final in Barbados.
  • Virat Kohli exits T20Is with an impressive record of 4,188 runs in 125 matches, boasting an average of 48.69, including 38 half-centuries and one century.
  • Rohit Sharma, the format’s highest run-scorer, ends his T20I career with 4,231 runs in 159 matches. He holds the record for the most centuries in T20 internationals,