Current Affairs - Cricket

ICC Awards 2021

The ICC Awards are an annual set of sports awards for international cricket, which recognise and honour the best international cricket players of the previous 12 months. The awards were introduced by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in 2004.

Winners for the Year 2021

  • Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year – Smriti Mandhana (India)

ICC Men’s Player of the Month (December 2021)

  • The International Cricket Council (ICC) on January 10 announced Ajaz Patel as the winner of the ICC Men’s Player of the Month Award for December 2021.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021

Himachal Pradesh beat Tamil Nadu in the final to win their maiden Vijay Hazare Trophy title, at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur.

  • The game was decided under VJD Method due to bad light.

India-New Zealand Test Series

India won the 2 match Test series 1-0.

  • In the second test India won by its biggest margin by runs (372).

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021

Tamil Nadu beat Karnataka in the final to win the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021.

  • The final was played at Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi.
  • Tamil Nadu is the most successful team in the history of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy history (3rd titles).

India-New Zealand T20 Series

India took a clean-sweep over the Kiwis in the three match series 3-0.

ICC World Cup & Champions Trophy Schedule: US to host T20 World Cup

The International Cricket Council (ICC) awarded the hosting rights of the T20 World Cup in 2024 to West Indies and USA. USA has hosted some T20I matches between India and West Indies at Fort Lauderdale in 2016 and 2019. However, this will be a major boost for USA cricket as their national team will get a direct entry into the tournament.

T20 World Cup 2021: Australia wins First Title

Australia beat New Zealand to win 2021 T20 World Cup final held on November 14, 2021 at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, UAE. This is the first T20 World Cup title won by Australia.

ICC Player of the Month (June)

Women’s: Sophie Ecclestone (England Left-arm spinner) – She is the second English female player to win the title after Tammy Beaumont (in February 2021).Men’s: Devon Conway (New Zealand opener) - ...

Jharkhand’s 3rd International Cricket Stadium

The Jharkhand State Cricket Association, affiliated with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), has signed a lease agreement with Bokaro Steel Plant for the construction of an ...

Showing 1-10 of 19 items.