WCD Ministry Classified All Major Schemes Under 3 Umbrella Schemes

For effective implementation of various schemes and programmes of the Ministry of Women and Child Development, all major schemes of the Ministry have been classified under 3 umbrella schemes viz. Mission Poshan 2.0, Mission Vatsalya and Mission Shakti.

  • Mission Poshan 2.0: It aims at strengthening nutritional content, delivery, outreach, and outcome. Government has merged the Supplementary Nutrition Programme and Poshan Abhiyan to launch Mission POSHAN 2.0.
  • Mission Vastalya: This mission is aimed at safety and well-being of children.
  • Mission Shakti: The aim of this mission is to provide safety, security, and dignity to women.
S.No. Umbrella Scheme Schemes Included
1. Saksham Anganwadi and POSHAN 2.0
  • Anganwadi Services
  • Poshan Abhiyan
  • Scheme for Adolescent Girls
  • National Creche Scheme
2. Mission VATSALYA
  • Child Protection Services and Child Welfare Services
3. Mission Shakti (Mission for Protection and Empowerment for Women)
  • SAMBAL (One Stop Centre, Mahila Police Volunteer, Women's Helpline/ Swadhar/ Ujjawala/ Widow Homes etc.)
  • SAMARTHYA (Beti Bachao Beti Padhao, Creche, Pradhan Mantri Matru Vandana Yojana/ Gender Budgeting/Research/