J&K Delimitation Panel Redraws Assembly Seats

  • 07 Feb 2022

  • In its interim report, the Jammu & Kashmir Delimitation Commission has redrawn most of the 90 Assembly seats, while reconfiguring and renaming 28 new Assembly constituencies and deleting 19 Assembly segments.
  • 17 constituencies have been redrawn in the Jammu province while 11 have been reconfigured in the Kashmir division.
  • Due to the reconfiguration, the names of nine Assembly constituencies in the Jammu division and 10 Assembly constituencies in the Kashmir division are proposed to be deleted.
  • The Commission has also proposed reframing of all the five Lok Sabha constituencies.
  • J&K currently has five Lok Sabha seats which include three seats from Kashmir and two from Jammu.