Current Affairs - Cricket

T20 World Cup 2021: Australia wins First Title

Australia beat New Zealand to win 2021 T20 World Cup final held on November 14, 2021 at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, UAE. This is the first T20 World Cup title won by Australia.

(Image Source:

Major Title Winners

  • Player of the Match: Mitchell Marsh (Australia)
  • Player of the Tournament: David Warner (Australia)
  • Leading run-scorer in the tournament: Babar Azamwith 303 (Pakistan)
  • Highest wicket-taker: Wanindu Hasaranga with 16 (Sri Lanka)

ICC Player of the Month (June)

  • Women’s: Sophie Ecclestone (England Left-arm spinner) – She is the second English female player to win the title after Tammy Beaumont (in February 2021).
  • Men’s: Devon Conway (New Zealand opener) - He became the first New Zealand player to win the award.

Jharkhand’s 3rd International Cricket Stadium

  • The Jharkhand State Cricket Association, affiliated with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), has signed a lease agreement with Bokaro Steel Plant for the construction of an international cricket stadium.
  • BSL is a unit of Steel Authority of India Limited, and the first city of Maharatna to house an international cricket stadium.
  • Bokaro will become the third city in Jharkhand to have an International Cricket Stadium after Jamshedpur and Ranchi.
  • Bokaro Steel Plant will transfer 20.17 acres of its land to JSCA for 33 years, for the construction of Stadium.
  • The proposed stadium will also be the first stadium to be constructed in SAIL township.

Anshula Rao: First Indian Woman Cricketer to be punished for Doping

  • Madhya Pradesh allrounder Anshula Rao has become the first women cricketer to be handed a four-year ban by the National Anti-Doping Agency, after failing the dope test.
  • She was found guilty of consuming a banned anabolic steroid ’19- Norandrosterone, on March 14 at Baroda in 2020.
  • Rao represents Madhya Pradesh in the domestic circuit, and was last seen playing cricket in the under-23 T20 tournament hosted by BCCI.

Ravindra Jadeja Becomes No. 1 Test All-Rounder

  • All-Rounder: India’s Ravindra Jadeja on 23 June 2021 dislodged West Indian Jason Holder as the world’s top all-rounder in the latest ICC Test rankings. Jadeja is two points ahead of Holder (384) while England all-rounder Ben Stokes is third on 377. R. Ashwin is at fourth with 353, followed by Shakib Al Hasan of Bangladesh (338).
  • Bowler: Ashwin remains in the second spot in the bowlers’ rankings on 850 points, below Pat Cummins (908) of Australia. Tim Southee (830) of New Zealand is third.
  • Batsman: Among the batsmen, there was no change in top-five with Indian captain Virat Kohli static at fourth on 814. Steve Smith of Australia continues to be the top batsman on 891 points, followed by Kane Williamson (886) of New Zealand and Marnus Labuschagne (878) of Australia.

Vinoo Mankad inducted into the ‘ICC Hall of Fame’

  • Former India all-rounder Vinoo Mankad was among 10 cricket icons inducted to the International Cricket Council (ICC) Hall Of Fame on 13th June 2021.
  • Mankad was among a special edition intake group to celebrate the history of Test cricket, and to coincide with the first ever ICC World Test Championship Final.

The Inductees

  • Early cricket era (pre-1918): Aubrey Faulkner (SA), Monty Noble (Aus)
  • Inter-war era (1918-1945): Learie Constantine (WI), Stan McCabe (Aus)
  • Post-war era (1946-1970): Ted Dexter (Eng), Vinoo Mankad (Ind)
  • ODI era (1971-1995): Desmond Haynes (WI), Bob Willis (Eng)
  • Modern era (1996-2015): Andy Flower (Zim), Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

PCB Launches Own Hall Of Fame

  • The Pakistan Cricket Board has decided to have its own ‘Hall of Fame’ to acknowledge and celebrate the achievements of its stalwarts.
  • As part of the launch, six members of the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame — Hanif Mohammad, Imran Khan, Javed Miandad, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Zaheer Abbas — will be inducted into the PCB Hall of Fame.
  • There will be three more inductions each year from 2021 with the inductees to be chosen by an independent panel and announced on October 16, the day when the country made its Test debut in 1952.

Mumbai Wins Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21

  • Mumbai beat Uttar Pradesh to win their 4th Vijay Hazare Trophy played at Arun Jaitley Stadium, New Delhi.
  • Aditya Tare (Mumbai) was given Player of the Match award.
  • Prithvi Shaw and Karan Sharma were the captain of Mumbai and Uttar Pradesh respectively.
  • The Vijay Hazare Trophy is named after the legendary Indian cricketer Vijay Hazare.
  • Tamil Nadu is the most successful team having won the trophy 5 times.

Ravichandran Ashwin: ICC Player Of The Month

  • Ravichandran Ashwin has been named the ICC men's Player for the Month of February for his stellar show against England in a four-match Test series at home which India won to qualify for the World Test Championship final.
  • Ashwin who played in three tests in the four match series scored a 106 in the second innings of India's second Test victory over England at Chennai and took his 400th Test wicket in the third Test victory at Ahmedabad.
  • Besides the century, Ashwin scalped 24 wickets against England last month to help India pocket the four-match Test series 3-1 and help his team secure its spot in the WTC final against New Zealand at Lord's in June.
  • England's Tammy Beaumont was adjudged the women's Player of the Month.

Jay Shah Becomes President Of Asian Cricket Council

  • BCCI secretary Jay Shah has been elected as the President of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC).
  • Shah will take over the reins from Nazmul Hassan, President, Bangladesh Cricket Board.
  • Shah is the youngest administrator to be appointed as the ACC President.
  • Headquartered at Colombo, Sri Lanka, the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) is a cricket organisation which was established in 1983, to promote and develop the sport of cricket in Asia. Subordinate to the International Cricket Council, the council is the continent's regional administrative body, and currently consists of 24 member associations.
Showing 11-20 of 22 items.