Island Development Agency (IDA)

Why is it in News?

Recently, four islands in Andaman and three islands in Lakshadweep have been identified for seaplane operations. Also, private sector participation has been invited for tourism-based projects.

The Island Development Agency (IDA):

  • The IDA was constituted in 2017 under the aegis of Ministry of Home Affairs to look into the holistic development of islands.
  • Home Minister of India is its chairman and CEO of NITI Aayog (Amitabh Kant at present) acts as its convener.
  • Other members of IDA include Secretary- Tourism, Tribal affairs, Home secretary, Secretary Ministry of Environment and Cabinet secretary.
  • NITI Aayog has been mandated with the task to steer the holistic development of the islands in sustainable manner.

Which of the Islands have been selected for Seaplane operations?

Islands of Andaman: Swaraj dweep, Shaheed Dweep, Hutbay and Long Island

Islands of Lakshdweep: Kavaratti, Agatti and Minicoy

Some Renamed Islands of Andaman:

As a tribute to Subhash Chandra Bose, the government had renamed three islands of A&N in December 2018- Ross Island was renamed as ‘Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Dweep’. The Neil Island was renamed as Shaheed Dweep and the Havelock Island as Swaraj Dweep.

Source: TH