Election Commission Of India (ECI)

  • 22 Mar 2024

ECI notifies postal ballot facility for essential services personnel during Lok Sabha and Assembly polls.

  • Categories include Metro, Railways, BSNL, Electricity, Health Department, Fire Services, Postal, Aviation, Disaster Management, Doordarshan, and media personnel.
  • Employees on duty on polling day eligible to cast votes through postal ballot.
  • Provisions under Representation of the People Act, 1951, allow for voting by postal ballot for essential services staff.
  • Applicable to General Elections and Legislative Assemblies of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha, and Sikkim, and bye-elections in 26 Assembly Constituencies across 13 States.