Key Appointments to UGC

  • 13 Apr 2024

On 10th April 2024, National Stock Exchange CEO Ashish Kumar Chauhan and Zoho founder Sridhar Vembu appointed as UGC members.

  • Sachidananda Mohanty and Shashikala Gulabrao Wanjari also named as UGC members by the Department of Higher Education.
  • Appointment expands UGC's strength from four to eight members, following the UGC Act of 1956.
  • Mamidala Jagadesh Kumar and Deepak Kumar Srivastava currently serve as UGC chairman and vice chairman, respectively.
  • Remaining members to include central government officials and individuals with expertise in various fields, as mandated by law.
  • Chauhan, besides leading NSE, holds the position of Chancellor at the University of Allahabad.
  • Vembu, with a doctorate from Princeton University, is the CEO of Zoho, a prominent cloud-based software firm.