Women’s Hockey Asia Cup 2022

  • Women’s Hockey Asia Cup 2022 will be held in Muscat, Oman from January 21-28, 2022.
  • The tournament was originally scheduled to be held in Bangkok, Thailand but moved to Muscat, Oman.
  • Goalkeeper Savita Punia will captain an 18-member Indian squad and Defender Deep Grace Ekka will be the vice-captain.
  • Indian women are the defending champions at the continental event.
  • The Indian women’s hockey team features 16 players who were part of the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, where the Indian eves finished fourth.
  • Regular skipper Rani Rampal will miss out as she is undergoing rehabilitation for a hamstring injury.
  • China, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea and Thailand are the seven other teams competing at the Women’s Hockey Asia Cup 2022.
  • India are drawn in Pool A with Japan, Malaysia and Singapore and will begin their campaign against Malaysia on January 21.
  • The top four countries will qualify for the Women’s Hockey World Cup 2022 to be held in Spain and the Netherlands later this year.