Dadasaheb Phalke Award, 2020

  • 30 Sep 2022

Renowned film actress, director and producer and an accomplished Indian classical dancer Ms Asha Parekh was awarded the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2020.

  • Starting her career as a child actor she made her debut as lead heroine in Dil Deke Dekho and has gone on to act in over 95 movies.
  • She has acted in celebrated films like Kati Patang, Teesri Manzil, Love in Tokyo, Aya Saawan Jhoom Ke, Aan Milo Sajna, Mera Gaon Mera Desh.
  • Ms Asha Parekh was conferred the Padma Shri in 1992. She has also served as the head of Central Board for Film Certification from 1998-2001.

The Jury

  • The jury for the selection of 52nd Dadasaheb Phalke award consisted of five members from the film industry: Ms Asha Bhosle, Ms Hema Malini, Ms Poonam Dhillon, Shri T. S. Nagabharana, and Shri Udit Narayan.

About the Award

  • The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is India's highest award in the field of cinema.
  • Presented first in 1969, the award was introduced by the Government of India to commemorate Dadasaheb Phalke's contribution to Indian cinema. He is regarded as "the father of Indian cinema", who directed India's first full-length feature film, Raja Harishchandra (1913).
  • It is presented annually at the National Film Awards ceremony by the Directorate of Film Festivals, an organisation set up by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.
  • The award comprises a Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus) medallion, a shawl, and a cash prize.
  • The first recipient of the award was actress Devika Rani (1969).
  • In 2019 it was awarded to Rajnikanth.