Chronicle English Books 2023 for All

Current Affairs - Awards In News

2022 Goalkeepers Global Goals Awards

As part of its annual Goalkeepers campaign, the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation honoured four winners of its Goalkeepers Global Goals Awards this year.

  • The foundation recognized the work of four remarkable changemakers to advance progress towards the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in their communities and around the world.

Dadasaheb Phalke Award, 2020

Renowned film actress, director and producer and an accomplished Indian classical dancer Ms Asha Parekh was awarded the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2020.

  • Starting her career as a child actor she made her debut as lead heroine in Dil Deke Dekho and has gone on to act in over 95 movies.

Angela Merkel Wins UNESCO Peace Prize

Former German Chancellor Angela Merkel received the 2022 Peace Prize “in recognition of her efforts to welcome refugees”.

Global Energy Prize 2022

The Indian-American professor Kaushik Rajashekara, a distinguished Professor of Engineering at the University of Houston has been awarded the most coveted prize in the field of international energy – Global Energy Prize 2022.

  • Rajashekara was declared winner in the ‘New Ways of Energy Applications’ category for outstanding contributions to transportation electrification and energy efficiency technologies while reducing power generation emissions.

68th National Film Awards 2020

On 22nd July 2022, the jury of the 68th National Film Awards announced the winners for the year 2020.

  • Tamil film Soorarai Pottru has bagged five national awards in different categories.

Mother Teresa Memorial Award to Dia Mirza, Afroz Shah

Maharashtra Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari presented the Mother Teresa Memorial Award for 2021 to Dia Mirza and Afroz Shah.

  • The award is conferred by the Harmony Foundation in recognition of outstanding work for the protection of the environment.

Fields Medal 2022

Ukrainian mathematician Maryna Viazovska has been named as one of four recipients of the 2022 Fields Medal, an honour that is often described the Nobel Prize in mathematics.

  • Maryna is only the second woman to receive the award. The other female laureate was Iran’s Maryam Mirzakhani.

National Geoscience Award

Lucknow University geologist Prof Dhruv Sen Singh has been selected for the National Geoscience Award (NGA), 2019, for his outstanding contributions in geo-environmental studies.

Vijay Amritraj honoured with Golden Achievement Award

India's Vijay Amritraj has been named the 2021 recipient of the Golden Achievement Award.

  • The Golden Achievement Award is presented annually by the International Tennis Hall of Fame and International Tennis Federation.

‘Mo Bus’ Service receives UN Public Service Award

‘Mo Bus’, the bus service of Odisha’s Capital Region Urban Transport (CRUT) authority, has been recognised by the United Nations as one of 10 global recipients of its annual Public Service Awards for 2022.

  • The public transport service has been recognised for its role in “promoting gender-responsive public services to achieve the SDGs (Sustainable Development Goals)”.

Showing 1-10 of 112 items.