Current Affairs - Appointment & Resignation

R Madhavan Appointed President of FTII Society

Recently, the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (MIB) appointed actor R Madhavan as the President of the Film and Television Institute of India (FTII) Society and the Chairperson of the Governing Council, succeeding former president director Shekhar Kapur.

Key Points:

  • Composition of FTII Society: The FTII Society comprises 12 nominees, including eight under the 'Persons of Eminence' category and four FTII alumni. Traditionally, the Ministry nominates members while appointing the institute's chairperson.
  • Appointment Process: The Ministry's recent appointment of R Madhavan appears to follow a similar pattern, as additional nominations have not been made.
  • The Governing Council, Academic Council, and Standing Finance Committee are formed once the quorum of 24 members is complete, including 12 ex-officio members.
  • These committees play a crucial role in making decisions about the institute's administration, academics, and finances.
  • R Madhavan's Profile: R Madhavan is a renowned actor known for his roles in successful films such as '3 Idiots,' 'Tanu Weds Manu,' and 'Rang De Basanti.'
  • He made his directorial debut with 'Rocketry: The Nambi Effect,' which received the Best Feature Film Award at the 69th National Awards.

Nivruti Rai Takes Charge as MD & CEO of Invest India

Ms. Nivruti Rai assumed the role of Managing Director & CEO of Invest India on July 12, 2023, bringing her extensive experience and expertise to the organization.

Key Points:

  • Succession from Ms. Manmeet K Nanda: Ms. Rai succeeded Ms. Manmeet K Nanda, Joint Secretary of DPIIT, who held the ad-interim charge of MD & CEO since March 2023.
  • Nari Shakti Puraskar Recipient: Ms. Rai is the proud recipient of the prestigious Nari Shakti Puraskar for her exceptional contributions in the technology domain.
  • Accomplished Career at Intel: Having spent 29 years at Intel, Ms. Nivruti Rai held significant global business and technology leadership roles.
  • As the Country Head for Intel India for the past seven years, she spearheaded growth and investments in the country.

Lt General (retd) Anil Chauhan

On 30th September 2022 Lt General (retd) Anil Chauhan assumed charge as the country’s second Chief of Defence Staff (CDS).

  • The post has been vacant for over nine months since the death of the first CDS Gen Bipin Rawat in a chopper crash in December 2021.
  • This is the first instance since independence, of a three-star Lieutenant General rank officer taking over as a four-star General after retirement.
  • Lt Gen Chauhan (retd) is from the 11 Gorkha Rifles, the same regiment of Gen Rawat.
  • He was commissioned into the 11 Gorkha Rifles of the Indian Army in 1981 and has served a range of staff and operational appointments including that of Director General of Military Operations.
  • Gen Chauhan took over as the General Officer Commanding-in-Chief of Eastern Command in September 2019 which he held until his retirement from service on May 31, 2021.

About CDS

  • As per charter, the CDS is a four-star General with salary and perquisites equivalent to a Service Chief. The CDS is first among equals with respect to the three Service Chiefs.
  • The CDS heads the Department of Military Affairs (DMA), the fifth department created in the Ministry of Defence, as its Secretary.
  • He is also the Principal Military Adviser to Defence Minister and Permanent Chairman, Chiefs of Staff Committee (COSC).
  • Tenure: No tenure was defined by the Government in his appointment unlike for Service Chiefs. For instance, the tenure of Service Chiefs is 62 years of age or three years whichever is earlier, while the maximum age limit for the CDS is 65 years of age with no tenure defined.

R Venkataramani

The Centre has appointed R Venkataramani, Senior Advocate at Supreme Court, as the 15th Attorney General of India (AG).

  • He replaced K K Venugopal, whose tenure ended on 30th September 2022.

M. N. Bhandari appointed as Chairman, Appellate Tribunal under SAFEMA

The Chief Justice of Madras High Court, Justice Munishwar Nath Bhandari (who is retiring on 12th September 2022) has been appointed as Chairman, Appellate Tribunal under the Smugglers and Foreign Exchange Manipulators Act (SAFEMA) for a period of four years, or till attaining the age of seventy years.

  • The order was issued by the Department of Revenue under the Ministry of Finance.
  • The Tribunal for Forfeiture of Property under the SAFEMA and the PMLA (Prevention of Money Laundering Act) Appellate Tribunal were merged in 2016 through the Finance Act, 2016.

Liz Truss becomes 3rd Woman PM of UK

Mary Elizabeth Truss has been appointed as the Prime Minister of the UK.

  • In the recently held election she defeated Rishi Sunak.
  • Truss had emerged as a contender for the prime ministerial role after her predecessor Boris Johnson agreed to step down.
  • The UK had two women Prime Ministers before Liz Truss:
    • Margaret Thatcher was the UK's first ever woman Prime Minister (1979-1990).
    • Theresa May was the UK PM from 2016-2019.

Samir V Kamat Appointed DRDO Chief

Noted scientist Samir V Kamat has been appointed as the Chairman of the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO).

  • Kamat succeeded Dr. G Satheesh Reddy who will take charge as Scientific Advisor to Raksha Mantri.

India's IT Secretary appointed to IGF Leadership Panel

Secretary in the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology Alkesh Kumar Sharma has been appointed to the inaugural Internet Governance Forum (IGF) Leadership Panel.

  • He is among 10 eminent persons from around the world appointed by UN Secretary General Antonio Guterres.
  • The UN chief established the Panel to support and strengthen the IGF, an annual meeting to discuss public policy issues pertaining to the Internet.
  • Panel members will address strategic and urgent issues and highlight Forum discussions, as well as possible follow-up actions, to promote greater impact and dissemination of IGF discussions, according to its Terms of Reference.
  • The selected persons will serve a two-year term during the 2022-23 IGF cycles.
  • The IGF is an outcome of the Tunis phase of the World Summit on the Information Society that took place in 2005.
  • In the Tunis Agenda, Governments asked the Secretary-General to convene a “new forum for policy dialogue” to discuss issues related to key elements of Internet governance.
  • The 17th edition of the Forum will take place from November 28 to December 2 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Justice Uday Umesh Lalit: 49th CJI of India

On 10th August 2022, President Droupadi Murmu has appointed Justice Uday Umesh Lalit as the 49th Chief Justice of India. He will take over the charge on 27th August, 2022.

  • The present CJI Justice N V Ramana will retire on 26th August.
  • Justice Uday Umesh Lalit was appointed as Judge of the Supreme Court of India in August 2014.
  • Justice Lalit is the 6th senior advocate ever to be directly elevated to the Supreme Court.
  • He will retire on 8 November 2022 after assuming the office of Chief Justice of India for a period of seventy four days.

Jagdeep Dhankar: 14th Vice President of India

On 11th August Jagdeep Dhankar was sworn in as the 14th Vice President of India.

  • President Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of office to Mr. Dhankar at Rashtrapati Bhavan.
  • Prior this position he served as the Governor of West Bengal. He also held office as the Union Minister for Parliamentary Affairs under the Chandra Shekhar ministry in 1990.
  • He replaced Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu who served from 2017 to 2022. He was the first Indian vice president born in independent India.
Showing 1-10 of 64 items.