MoU between Chief Ministers of Assam and Arunachal Pradesh

  • 21 Apr 2023

On April 20, 2023, the Chief Ministers of Assam and Arunachal Pradesh have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to resolve a decades-long boundary dispute.

  • The dispute is over 123 villages across 12 districts of Arunachal Pradesh and eight of Assam.
  • Assam and Arunachal Pradesh share an 804.1-km-long border that has been in dispute since Arunachal Pradesh became a Union territory in 1972 and later a state on February 20, 1987.
  • Out of the 123 villages claimed by Arunachal Pradesh before the Local Commission in 2007, 71 have been amicably resolved so far.
  • The dispute over 37 of these 123 villages had been resolved on July 15, 2022, itself with the signing of the Namsai Declaration.
  • The state governments agree that no new claim area or village will be added in the future beyond these 123 villages.
  • The agreement will end the dispute relating to 123 villages along the border, keeping in view the historical perspective, demographic profile, administrative convenience, proximity to the border, and the aspirations of the residents.