Current Affairs - News Crux

Indian Space Association (ISpA)

On 11th October 2021, the Indian Space Association (ISpA) was launched.

  • The Indian Space Association (ISpA) is the premier industry association of space and satellite companies.

Nobel Prize for Economics 2021

United States-based economists David Card, Joshua Angrist and Guido Imbens were awarded the 2021 Nobel Prize in economics for their pioneering the use of “natural experiments” to understand the causal effects of economic policy and other events.

  • David Card took half the prize “for his empirical contributions to labour economics”.
  • Angrist and Imbens shared the other half “for their methodological contributions to the analysis of causal relationships”.

NTCA approves 4th Tiger Reserve of Chhattisgarh

On 5th October 2021, the National Tiger Conservation Authority (NTCA) approved the Chhattisgarh government’s proposal to declare the combined areas of the Guru Ghasidas National Park and Tamor Pingla Wildlife Sanctuary as a Tiger Reserve.

11 October: International Day of the Girl Child

The International Day of the Girl Child is observed annually to raise awareness of issues facing girls internationally surrounding education, nutrition, child marriage, and legal and medical rights.

The theme for 2021 International Day of the Girl Child is “Digital generation. Our generation”.

10 October: World Mental Health Day

Celebrated every year on October 10, the day is aimed at raising awareness about mental health.

Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award for Excellence

The Vice President Shri M Venkaiah Naidu presented the 22nd Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award for Excellence to eminent pulmonologist and Director of the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), Dr. Randeep Guleria.

Prani Mitra Awards 2021

The two-day National conference for zoo directors and veterinarians organized by Central Zoo Authority (CZA) and hosted by Sardar Patel Zoological Park, Kevadia, Gujarat.

  • At the conference, the CZA gave away Prani Mitra Awards - that are given every year under 4 categories.

Aryabhata Award 2021

The Chairman of DRDO Dr G Satheesh Reddy has been conferred the prestigious Aryabhata Award for his outstanding life-time contribution to the promotion of astronautics in India.

Nobel Prize in Literature 2021

Tanzania’s novelist Abdulrazak Gurnah won the 2021 Nobel Prize in literature for his works exploring the effects of colonialism and the experiences of refugees.

Nobel Peace Prize 2021

The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 2021 to Maria Ressa (Philippines) and Dmitry Muratov (Russia) for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace.

Showing 61-70 of 341 items.