The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation

  • 16 May 2024

On 15th May, 2024, Secretary General of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC), embarked on a five-day visit to India, marking his first official visit to a SAARC member state since assuming office in July 2023.

  • Discussions focused on enhancing cooperation within SAARC, reaffirming India's commitment to regional growth and prosperity through SAARC initiatives.
  • India emphasized the significance of SAARC as a platform for fostering closer ties among South Asian nations, highlighting its efforts to promote regional cooperation.
  • SAARC, comprising eight member states including India, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, aims to promote regional cooperation and development.
  • However, SAARC's effectiveness has been hindered since 2016, with biennial summits suspended after the 2014 Kathmandu Summit.
  • The 2016 SAARC Summit in Islamabad was cancelled following India's withdrawal due to security concerns after the Uri terrorist attack, leading to other member states' decision not to participate.