West Bengal To Establish A Legislative Council

  • 21 May 2021

  • The West Bengal cabinet has approved the formation of the Legislative Council - the Upper house of the state legislature. The state had a bicameral legislature but it was abolished in 1969.
  • At present, only six states - Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Telangana, Maharashtra, Bihar, and Uttar Pradesh have Legislative Council.
  • The State Legislative Council is established under Article 169 of the Indian Constitution.
  • The size of the State Legislative Council cannot be more than one-third of the members of the State Legislative Assembly.
  • Parliament of India can create or abolish the State Legislative Council of a state if that state’s legislature passes a resolution for that with a special majority.