UPPCS Mains question ask

Rajiv Kumar appointed as Chief Election Commissioner

On 12 May 2022, Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar was appointed as the next chief election commissioner.

  • He will assume charge on May 15 after incumbent Sushil Chandra demits office on May 14.
  • At present, Anup Chandra Pandey is the other Election Commissioner in the three member body.

Some Facts on Election Commissioner

  • Appointment: The Chief Election Commissioner and Election Commissioners are appointed by the President.
  • Tenure: They have tenure of six years, or up to the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.
  • Status & Perks: They enjoy the same status and receive salary and perks as available to Judges of the Supreme Court of India.
  • Equal Say: All Election Commissioners have equal say in the decision making of the Commission.
  • Removal: The Chief Election Commissioner can be removed from the office in a manner similar to the removal of a judge of the Supreme Court of India which requires a resolution passed by the Parliament of India a two-thirds majority in both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha on the grounds of proved misbehaviour or incapacity. Other Election Commissioners can be removed by the President of India on the recommendation of the Chief Election Commissioner.

Some Facts on ECI

  • The Election Commission of India (ECI) is a constitutional body under the Ministry of Law and Justice.
  • This power of the Election Commission of India is derived from the Article 324 of the Constitution of India.