India’s 40th Scientific Expedition To Antarctica

  • India has launched the 40th scientific expedition to Antarctica with a 43-member team embarking upon the Russian ice-class vessel MV Vasiliy Golovnin.
  • The National Centre for Polar and Ocean Research (NCPOR), which manages the entire Indian Antarctic program.
  • The expedition is aimed at supporting the ongoing scientific projects on climate change, geology, ocean observations, electric and magnetic flux measurements, environmental monitoring; resupplying of food, fuel, provisions and spare; and accomplishing the return of the winter crew.
  • The Indian Antarctic expeditions began in 1981 with the first trip consisting of a team of 21 scientists and support staff led by Dr SZ Qasim. Today, the Indian Antarctic programme has three permanent research base stations in Antarctica: Dakshin Gangotri, Maitri, and Bharati of which Maitri and Bharati are operational.
  • Arctic Expedition: For research in Arctic region, India launched its first scientific expedition in 2007. Indian Arctic station ‘Himadri’ is located at Ny Alesund, Spitsbergen Island, Norway and serves as a hub of Indian scientific investigations.