Chronicle English Books 2023 for Mains

Current Affairs - Football

Durand Cup 2022

Bengaluru won their first-ever Durand Cup by defeating the debutants – Mumbai City by 2–1.

  • The final match took place at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata.

India wins SAFF U-17 Championship 2022

India has won the SAFF U-17 Championship (4th title), defeating Nepal in the Final at the Racecourse International Stadium, in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

71st Senior National Basketball Championship

The 71st Senior National Basketball Championship for Men & Women was organized at Nehru Stadium, Chennai by Basketball Federation of India in association with Tamil Nadu Basketball Association from 3rd - 10th April 2022.

FIFA Football Awards 2021

The Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2021 ceremony, held as a virtual TV show from the Home of FIFA in Zurich, Switzerland.

  • It crowned Alexia Putellas (Spain) and Robert Lewandowski (Poland) , as the outstanding players in women’s and men’s football respectively.

Ballon d'Or 2021

The annual football awards ‘Ballon d'Or’ were presented by French news magazine France Football.

  • Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or for a seventh time.

India wins SAFF Championship Title for 8th Time

India won the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) Championship for eighth time defeating Nepal 3-0 in Male.

  • Indian Captain Sunil Chhetri’s goal in the final game helped him level with Lionel Messi on 80 international goals.

‘Ibha’: Mascot for FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup 2022

On 11th October 2021, the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) unveiled ‘Ibha’ as the official mascot of FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup 2022 – to be held in India.

FIFA Rankings: India stay 105th

The Indian national football team remained at 105th in the world in the latest FIFA men's rankings released on 12 August 2021.The points gained in their last two qualifying matches ...

Kolkata to host 130th Edition of Durand Cup 2021

Kolkata will host the Durand Cup - world's third oldest and Asia's oldest football tournament between 05 September to 03 October 2021, with matches being played at various venues in ...

AIFF Awards 2020-21

The AIFF Player of the Year Awards are the annual football awards presented to the best footballers in India by the All India Football Federation (AIFF).Sunil Chhetri (6 times) and ...

Showing 1-10 of 14 items.