Dissolution Of Lok Sabha

Why is it in News?

Due to ongoing General Elections the term ‘Dissolution of Lok Sabha’ is frequently seen in the news.

What is Dissolution of Lok Sabha?

  • In India, the Lok Sabha has a five-year term, but can be dissolved earlier.
  • According to Article 83 (2) of the Constitution, completion of five years from the first day of its meeting amounts to dissolution of the lower house.
  • In this case, an election is held to elect the new Members of Parliament. The lower house can also be dissolved earlier by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister. It can also be dissolved if the President feels that no viable government can be formed after the resignation or fall of a regime.

What will happen to the Bills in case of Dissolution?

1. Bills pending in Lok Sabha will lapse; it is immaterial whether it originated in Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha.

2. Bills passed by Lok Sabha but pending in Rajya Sabha will also lapse in case of dissolution.

Related Facts:

  • Parliament consists of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha & the President.
  • To give effect to any International Treaty, Parliament can make law to any state or whole of India without the consent of state.
  • The duration of Lok Sabha is 5 years and is mentioned in the Constitution.
  • The duration of Rajya Sabha is 6 years and is fixed by the Law of Parliament under Represenation of People Act, 1951.
  • The age for Lok Sabha is 25 years and that of Rajya Sabha is 30 years.
  • Election to Rajya Sabha is made through votes of Members of Legislative Assembly which is by single transferable proportional representation.
  • During National Emergency, the life of Lok Sabha can be extended any number of times (but 1 year at a time).
  • Under Article 99, Constitution authorizes the President to administer the oath of the new parliamentarians, but Pro-tem speaker discharges that duty on his behalf.
  • Kamal Nath (Present Chief Minister of MP) was the Pro-Tem speaker during the oath of new parliamentarians in the 16th Lok Sabha elections.


Source: TH, Indian Polity (M Laxmikanth)