South Asian Association For Regional Cooperation (SAARC)

Recently, both India and Pakistan boycotted each other’s statements at a meeting of South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) Foreign Ministers held in New York. Consider the following statements about the SAARC:

  1. SAARC) was established with the signing of the SAARC Charter in Kathmandu in December 1985.
  2. It comprises of nine Member States: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Myanmar, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Which of the statements given above is/are correct? Choose the correct answer from the codes given below:

Only 1
Only 2
Both 1 and 2
Neither 1 nor 2