National Ganga Council

Recently, the Prime Minister chaired the first meeting of the National Ganga Council at Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh. Consider the following statements about the National Ganga Council:

  1. The National Ganga Council, also known as the National Council for Rejuvenation, Protection, and Management of River Ganga was set up in 2016. It replaced the National River Ganga Basin Authority (NRGBA).
  2. The jurisdiction of the National Ganga Council extends to the States comprising River Ganga Basin, namely, Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Bihar, Rajasthan,Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Jharkhand, Haryana and the National Capital Territory of Delhi and such other States, having major tributaries of the River Ganga.

Choose the correct answer from the codes given below:

Only 1
Only 2
Both 1 and 2
Neither 1 nor 2