Civil Services Chronicle One Year Subscription With 28 Years Solved Paper @ Rs.1290/-

New Non-Permanent Members Of UNSC

Consider the following statements:

  1. Recently, Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique and Switzerland were elected as the new non-permanent members of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC).
  2. The Security Council consists of 20 countries. Five of them – China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States – are permanent members with the right to veto.
  3. The United Nations General Assembly, which comprises all 193 UN Member States, elects the 10 non-permanent members who serve for two-year terms.

Which of the above statement(s) is/are true?

1 and 2
2 and 3
1 and 3
All of the above